Topic 4: The friendships we form.

This is my good friend Twitter. I really like my good friend Twitter. I also really like my other friends of the same social circle, Facebook and Instagram.

But every friend, no matter how good, has a flaw. After commenting on Yi Ming’s and Evan’s post, I realised that good friends have flaws. But they are merely mediums or channels of communication. The information that we pass on to them, they just publish. That is their main job. It’s how we users handle these platforms to improve our lives socially or work related.

I found this video on Youtube (Another good friend of mine) which explains the impact social media is creating, the types of policies they have that is supposedly protecting us and what we can do to prevent any privacy leaks. Although I have to admit, watching such a video on Youtube is a little ironic.

A comment from one viewer, brisslayer reads:

This whole issue is not an issue at all, NONE of us are REQUIRED to be HONEST on ANY social media, nowhere does it say that our names, date of birth, location are required to be REAL and the whole thing is a VIRTUAL experience filled with truth and falsehoods and nobody is qualified to tell the diference. Social media is an entertainment tool nothing more it only has ANY value because we WANT IT SO! SORRY!!!

Although I do disagree with him greatly that social media is merely an entertainment tool. The main discussion point is Ethical Issues and this comment is a great example.

The comment mentioned that social media is a virtual experience and nobody is qualified to tell the difference. From this I can infer that people on the web may not be who they say they are. Hence moving back to my point of users handling social media, It is really how we use social media.

On a side note, if these people are giving incorrect information about themselves, does that mean these companies are selling wrong information to marketing companies..?

Also, I came across this other video which I thought would be interesting.

Leave a comment